Why Bald move should cover syfys The Magicians

Because I just binged season one and its wonderful, and Walking Dead and American Horror Story are trash.
Anyone else love this show?

Comments

  • Is this a TV adaptation of the Lev Grossman books?
    Elisa
    Yeah? Well, y'know... that's just like uh... your opinion, man.
  • ElisaElisa Los Angeles
    Just started my binge and finished e4.
  • calebthrowercalebthrower South Carolina

    Is this a TV adaptation of the Lev Grossman books?

    Yes it is
  • akritenbrinkakritenbrink Lynnwood, WA (Seattle area)
    This caught my eye, but I wasn't sure if I would like it. Can you tell us a little more about it and what you like about it? I am low on shows right now. :)
    Be a human, not a machine.

    Angie Kritenbrink
    akritenbrink on most social media

  • I'm almost done with S1, and finding it surprisingly good.  

    I was listening to one of the Walking Dead podcasts today, and they were talking about Negan whistling "A Hunting We Will Go/Farmer in the Dell" as they showed only his legs walking, which was an homage to Omar doing the same thing in The Wire.  Well, in S1E11, the Beast does the same thing while killing the protagonists in a dream sequence/alternate reality.  

    Is this a common trope?  I've never noticed it before.  

    And I agree...this would be a fun podcast. 



    Elisa
  • This caught my eye, but I wasn't sure if I would like it. Can you tell us a little more about it and what you like about it? I am low on shows right now. :)

    I would say think of it almsot like a Harry Potter for Young Adults (college age). It does carry a darker tone however. While I really like the show, I'm not sure it would ever be a good podcasting show because it doesn't have enough of a following. For those interested in the show you may want to read a synopsis of the 1st book as the 1st season is mostly the 1st book (with maybe some of the second (reading book 2 now).

    SyFy has a few shows I watch and really enjoy The Expanse (maybe the best Space Drama since BSG), 12 Monkeys (a TT show that for the most part follows it's complicated rules) and the Magicians. I would give an Honerable Mention to Incorperated which to me had the same "feel" as Continuum (although not related story/plot wise)


    Elisaakritenbrink
  • ElisaElisa Los Angeles
    The characters are very emo but so far from what I can see there's a lot more to story - layers and world building. I'm currently mid binge of S1.

    I'm a sci fi fanatic and do enjoy several Syfy channel shows like the aforementioned The Expanse along with Killjoys and Dark Matter. Not hbo quality but enjoyable sci fi genre shows.
  • akritenbrinkakritenbrink Lynnwood, WA (Seattle area)
    I'm not a huge sci fi person, but I do like some more genre-ish shows if they have some other element that makes them good, like the good characterizations on Orphan Black.

    I think the only thing I have ever watched on SyFy is Face Off, which my husband got me into. We love any reality show where it's a creative competition. 
    Be a human, not a machine.

    Angie Kritenbrink
    akritenbrink on most social media

  • I'm not a huge sci fi person, but I do like some more genre-ish shows if they have some other element that makes them good, like the good characterizations on Orphan Black.


    I think the only thing I have ever watched on SyFy is Face Off, which my husband got me into. We love any reality show where it's a creative competition. 
    It's almost all tied around the main magic plot. So, not sure this one would be for you.
    akritenbrink
  • Is this a TV adaptation of the Lev Grossman books?

    Yes it is
    Dang. Not sure if I want to watch it then.  I enjoyed those books, and most things I've seen on SyFy have been of dubious quality.
    Yeah? Well, y'know... that's just like uh... your opinion, man.
  • edited January 10

    Is this a TV adaptation of the Lev Grossman books?

    Yes it is
    Dang. Not sure if I want to watch it then.  I enjoyed those books, and most things I've seen on SyFy have been of dubious quality.
    SyFy has been slowly adding quality programming back. 12 Monkeys, The Magicians, Incorporated, The Expanse, Dark Matter, Killjoys, and a few others I'm sure I am forgetting. While at one point Inwould agree with you, I have to say over the past few years they ha e slowly gotten back into my good graces.
    Elisa
  • Remember Eureka, I loved Eureka
    And was really into Face Off
    Jovial_Falcon
  • I guess WD and AHS arent good comparisons since theyre fall and The Magicians season 2 is at the end of this month.
    But it is good, I wasnt expecting to like it.
    Elisa
  • Just realized this show is part of the "Offline Viewing" section of Netflix. Just DL the pilot. I'll check it out soon.

    I try to support SyFy as much as I can. They have given me plently of good shows over the past 5-10 years. Always willing to give it a shot.

    For me - Haven, Eureka and WHSE 13 really brought me back to SyFy. I just love the creativity of those 3 shows. Fun characters and good case of the week stuff. Plus Haven is one of my favorite Mythologies among Sci-Fi shows.
    Elisa
    Shit, you shoot me in a dream you better wake up and apologize.
  • I am watching this show, and liking it for the most part though it is clearly aimed at a young adult audience

    I can't stand that the women are all good looking and wear skimpy clothes.  Even Alice FFS, who is basically a blonde bombshell with hipster glasses to make her look like the girl who "sin't attractive" in She's All That

    Really, really, annoying.  Typical American/Hollywood crap, though.
    Yeah? Well, y'know... that's just like uh... your opinion, man.
  • The second season started off "ok". I'm reading the second book now and almsot wish they'd went that route. Hopefully they make fairly quick work of The Beast, as I think it may be dragged out a bit too far.
  • Got through 5 episodes. Really enjoying it so far. I'm kind of dissappointed in myself for not checking it out sooner
    Shit, you shoot me in a dream you better wake up and apologize.
  • finished the 1st season. Great ending and interesting twist. Starting S2 this weekend.
    KingKobraElisa
    Shit, you shoot me in a dream you better wake up and apologize.
  • ElisaElisa Los Angeles
    Yes, it took me awhile but I really do like the show.  It is very dark yet whimsical.  Some of the teenage drama and relationships are a bit much but the rest is pretty good.
    Jovial_Falcon
  • MrSinysterMrSinyster Raleigh, NC
    KingKobra said:

    This caught my eye, but I wasn't sure if I would like it. Can you tell us a little more about it and what you like about it? I am low on shows right now. :)

    I would say think of it almsot like a Harry Potter for Young Adults (college age). It does carry a darker tone however. While I really like the show, I'm not sure it would ever be a good podcasting show because it doesn't have enough of a following. For those interested in the show you may want to read a synopsis of the 1st book as the 1st season is mostly the 1st book (with maybe some of the second (reading book 2 now).

    SyFy has a few shows I watch and really enjoy The Expanse (maybe the best Space Drama since BSG), 12 Monkeys (a TT show that for the most part follows it's complicated rules) and the Magicians. I would give an Honerable Mention to Incorperated which to me had the same "feel" as Continuum (although not related story/plot wise)


    I'd also add in Killjoys and to a lesser extent Dark Matter. Z Nation is enjoyable because it doesn't take itself seriously. And yes, the best way to describe Magicians is college aged Harry Potter with a lot of sex,violence, and drug use. 
    Elisa
    "Choke hold is illegal!" 
  • I just started watching this, I'm glad to know that it has a following and lots of people are still into it a few seasons in.
    Elisa
  • Just finished season 1, it's like a mix between Harry Potter and Narnia. Definitely C grade television, but it's good for what it is. It knows its lane and sticks to it, which I respect, unlike some other shows I watch (looking at you Walking Dead). 

    But there's not a chance in hell BM would ever cover this show. The relationship Drama alone puts it in the Rah-Rah/Har-Har category, not serious coverage. That, and if there's one thing Jim dislikes more than fantasy, it's fantasy that makes up magic and rules as it goes, and this show does that just about every episode.
  • Oh yea Jim would hate it ;)

    However I could see this being a good Cecily and A.Ron podcast in the tradition of True Blood and AHS.
  • Season 2 is "more of the same"....it's not bad, just not great. They have changed a few things on the show (from the book) and I'm not sure yet if it's for the better. I'm reading book 2 now and am enjoying it (light reading). While I expect more details from the book, some things have changed "drastically" so that events don't match up. It will be interesting to see the path they take for the rest of the season.
    Elisa
  • Ok with last nights episode it seems they are moving into Book 2 "sort of"...some of the events and things mentioned in passing comments I was familiar with. Was happy to see those things moving along, will be interesting to see how they do the events in the show, compared to the book.
    manhattnik
  • Another good episode. As I am reading book 2 I know some of the things that haven't happens yet, but there is still "new" occurring on the show. It appears they are changing some of the story to make it "cheaper" as they are weaving book one and two storylines together (while changing how they occur). I'm still looking forward to the rest of the season.
  • Guess I'm the only one watching this here, still enjoying the season, it is very interesting on just how much they've changed, but kept what happens, from the books.

    Also, it's been renewed for season 3

    http://www.theverge.com/2017/4/12/15275778/the-magicians-renewed-third-season-syfy
    Elisamanhattnik
  • ElisaElisa Los Angeles
    I'm still watching. I'm one episode behind. I really like the crazy/off the wall nature of the show, along with the balance of camp and darkness. They run thru plot at breakneck pace which actually works.
    KingKobra
  • Good finale, they burned through basically all of book 3, so next season should be all original. They changed how things happened quite a bit (other things didn't happen/haven't happened yet) so it makes going into the unknown interesting. Hopin they can keep a good story without the source material to guide them.
    manhattnik
Sign In or Register to comment.