Twin Peaks: The Return, Episodes 1 - 2

edited May 22 in Other TV
Written by Mark Frost and David Lynch
Directed by David Lynch

[ I didn't see anyone else start this thread, so I did - I guess A.Ron doesn't start threads for non-reviewed shows? (sorry, I'm new to baldmove.com membership.)]

A lot to chew on from those first two, I mean, four episodes :-)

UPDATE: changing title back to 1-2 (from 1-4) because I think (not sure) that most people only have access to the first two episodes at this writing (I've got access to 1-4 the first night - some sort of Amazon Prime video deal?)

cdriveElisa

Comments

• cdrivecdrive Houston, TX
    I'm watching leftovers right now regretting not watching epsidode 2. Real talk. And I love the Leftovers.
  • That was awesome! After Inland Empire, I wasn't really sure what to expect with Lynch directing the majority of the episodes.  He really got out there in the weeds with digital camcorders for awhile.  But this was elegant, haunting, surreal and completely Twin Peaks.  I'm sold on the series revival after parts 1 & 2.

Despite the unfortunate circumstances of some of the original cast, I like how the regulars are getting weaved in and Mädchen Amick is still a Goddess.  I'm also really happy to see that the Black Lodge still works.  Given that most TV shows look incredibly cinematic, would reversed audio/footage seem childish? Nope, still disconcerting as hell.

What I'm digging most is what Kyle MacLachlan is doing as Agent "Bob" Cooper.  He's menacing, brutal, and it's a nice continuation from the season 2 finale.  It seems like Lynch and Frost actually put a lot of thought into what 25 years would do unlike some other series revival.
    AntManBeehypergenesbElisaJovial_FalconDaveyMac