Dunkirk and the US

Hey guys - newbie here. Just watched Dunkirk last night (it's come to the UK pretty late, ironically) and I thought it was generally excellent. Just wondered how it landed if you're an American and not aware of the story as much as we are over here. What do you know of the evacuations generally, and has this changed your view of the early part of the war? 

Comments

• sean.raysean.ray Texas
    edited July 27
    I'm a US citizen, had never heard of this before the movie was announced. What a bunch of brave souls truly an inspiring story. And i've been thinking a lot about Churchhill's quote and I actually got it tattooed on my arm two weekends ago because I was thinking World War II early on was basically England versus Europe and Churchill saying we should go on to the end we shall fight on the beaches we shall fight on the landing grounds we shall never surrender. that's not just inspirational that's a way of life. Bravo to England, seriously, because when it comes down to it someone has to stop evil in this world and in 1939 to 45 evil was Adolf Hitler. someone has to stop him. who is going to stop him? Good men who stand up and say enough. British and American. So God bless those troops on that beach, on the channel, and in the air.
  • CretanBullCretanBull Toronto
    edited July 27
    sean.ray said: