New Podcast production help

Hey all,
I'm trying to help a friend upstart a podcast on the cheap, and possibly a live-stream.  The podcast will be Poker related, including shop talk on the game as well as interview guests.  I offered him help on the production end, because I'm a little more tech savvy and have some basic PC equipment already.  My questions for the community is what other important hardware is crucial?  Can we get away with cheap mics?  Can I use mixing software? or is a physical mixer better?  Is there any good freeware software available for mixing/streaming/editing?  And any other info on the subject is also welcome, I'm sure there's lots I haven't even thought about yet.  

Comments

• A_Ron_HubbardA_Ron_Hubbard Cincinnati, OH
    We use relatively cheap mics.  Shure m58s, but our road gear is '48s, and honestly I struggle to tell the difference for vocals.  If it's just the one host, Shure makes an audio interface for the mic to plug directly into a USB port (X2C).  It's rugged and works well, but it's pricey.  There's also nothing wrong with just using a cheap USB mic.  I actually got pretty good results with the stupid Rock Band mic back in the day.  The default "new to podcasting" recommendation is the Audio-Technica ATR2100-USB.  You can use it as a USB mic, and then if / when you get a mixer, hey, it's got XLR outputs as well.

As far as editing, you can't go wrong with Audacity.  We used it for the first 3-4 years of Bald Move.  The only thing I'd say bad about it is that you'll have to unlearn it all if you move on to a non-destructive, more full featured DAW.  You're also limited to recording a single track which is less than ideal.