Genealogy

MichelleMichelle California
Is anyone here into researching their geneaology/family tree?  I've been working on mine for about 20 years.  It's a labor of love, but omg, so time consuming.   It's all worth it though when you start discovering stories of your family and finding notable people in your tree.  Let's hear your stories!

Comments

• DeeDee Adelaide
    edited January 27
    I don’t do it myself, but my dad was full on into it when he was alive. Most interesting relative was a great x something grandfather from the 1800s who was a Baron and gave up his title and his inheritance to marry a servant he knocked up. So I am fancy fallen aristocracy. 
    darwinfeeshyMichelleJaimieTbazjenster
  • JaimieTJaimieT Atlanta, GA
    I did a DNA thing on Ancestry.com and found a 2nd cousin who was adopted away. We're still trying to figure out who his father was. Hehe. It's getting really messy and my mom/aunts have shut down on the subject. 

My mom is like "My father was very faithful." Okay, Mom. But this guy is matched with me and my 1st cousin, and none of us declared each other. The tests are eerily accurate. (It predicted that I'd have Graves Disease, and I do. It predicted I'd have a blood clotting disorder, and I got tested for that on Wednesday. Waiting for the results.)

You should try the DNA thing if this interests you! This 2nd cousin contacted me out of the blue. 
    Michelle
  • I think it's so fascinating!  I tried to get into it, but my paternal grandmother's parents came from Lithuania in 1908, and changed their last name ... I looked and looked and looked, but couldn't find them.
    Ran into trouble finding my maternal grandparents' parents as well.
    Michelle
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • edited January 27
    Both of my maternal grandparents were first generation immigrants (first born in US) and were pureblood Finnish. So tracking anything beyond my great-grandparents on that side gets a little tricky.