gun control

this will be most likely be a touchy subject but I think I know the Bald Move community can have a reasonable discussion and will not resort to childish response. If the Aron and Jim do not want to allow this discussion then I completely understand them blocking or removing this thread. 

Here is my view.

I’ve lived in the US for 25 years. I witnessed Columbine on TV as a freshman in high school. It was extremely concerning and scary for the first few days after this incident but luckily nothing happened. I went to NIU and sat in the same classroom that was shot up a few years after I graduated. I went to that classroom every Mon, weds and Friday for over a semester and sat in a chair that might have been a place where a student was brutally murdered. 

I moved to Australia in 2009, a country that Implemented serious gun control a decade before I arrived. I watched the sandy hook massacre a year after my first kid was born. 

I watched a terrorist Attack in Sydney happen in a coffee shop I walked past many times and the terrorist only had a pistol and was “luckily” only able to kill 2 people. 

My kids have gone to school in Australia and Singapore for the past 4 years in countries with strict gun laws. I do not worry for their safety considering each country has never experienced what the US experiences on an almost monthly basis.

everytime I discuss gun control with gun supporters I come across the same 3 arguments.

1. Criminals do not abide by the law
2. People need to protect themselves and their homes
3. Citizens need to protect themselves from the government 

here is my response to that.