Music copyright question

Hi everyone, I’m looking for some clarification:

I am filming videos of horses for an upcoming sale at the ranch I work for, and I have put music on them, and if I post them on my ranch’s Facebook site, the video is blocked for copyright laws, I’ve gotten around this by posting the videos to YouTube, and then posting the links to the videos to our Facebook, and that is working fine. But why is Facebook blocking the videos? It says it’s because of the music, but why do they care? Several of the podcasts I listen to (including this site) have music/dialogue of the movie/tv show being reviewed on the podcast. Isn’t it all fair use?
can anyone explain the rules on this?

thanks!

Comments

• edited July 2018
    I’m not an expert by any means but I’m under the impression that clips are allowed when used for critical, satirical, or educational purposes.  By using the music in what is, if I’m understanding correctly, an advertisement you’re violating the copyright on that music.  Fair Use laws allow for limited use of clips but exclude purposes that yield financial gain.  Basically if you’re going to make money the recording industry wants their cut, but if you’re just discussing why this is important or interesting they don’t care.
  • @freiberg.justin thank you for your explanation.
    although, I don’t specifically say in the video the horse is for sale, it is on our Facebook page for our sale. Thanks again!
  • There are a ton of TV shows from the 90s that are nearly impossible to legally get a hold of due to the music copy rights of all things.  One of the funnier examples which raises the ire of my father and I is the Drew Carey Show.   
    [Deleted User]
  • emnofseattleemnofseattle Mason County, Washington USA
    seanray said:
    Hi everyone, I’m looking for some clarification: