Adulting (seeking advice about retirement accounts)

I'm researching the process of opening a retirement account for myself and holy shit there is so much to learn! For background, I am a 22 year old grad student so I don't get the option of having an employee sponsored retirement account. That being said, considering that I am so young, I am going to be opening a roth IRA since I am lucky enough to have some cash lying around. The question for my bald movers is: which brokerage firm would you suggest? I hear a lot of ads for Betterment on podcasts and have been looking into that one lately, but would love to know what experiences other people have had! 

A few more pieces of info:
1. I have enough funds to hit the minimum balance for many accounts (a few thousand dollars)
2. I'm leaning heavily towards a "robot" managed account where things are automatically adjusted. I don't want to pay the fees associated with heavily managed accounts and I also don't believe that the average broker is going to get me returns that are significant for what I'm paying them. I also don't want to choose the individual assests myself.
3. I am a moderate risk person
Travis

Comments

• JaimieTJaimieT Atlanta, GA
    edited August 2018
    I'm researching the process of opening a retirement account for myself and holy shit there is so much to learn! For background, I am a 22 year old grad student so I don't get the option of having an employee sponsored retirement account. That being said, considering that I am so young, I am going to be opening a roth IRA since I am lucky enough to have some cash lying around. The question for my bald movers is: which brokerage firm would you suggest? I hear a lot of ads for Betterment on podcasts and have been looking into that one lately, but would love to know what experiences other people have had! 

1. I have enough funds to hit the minimum balance for many accounts (a few thousand dollars)